ic S/general/checkmark circled Thanks for subscribing! Be on the lookout for our next newsletter.
ic S/general/checkmark circled Saved to Favorites.
Colleges / Explore Lists / American Athletic Conference Schools

American Athletic Conference Schools

List by College Confidential
Photo: Vlada Karpovich/Pexels

The American Athletic Conference (AAC) is a college level athletic conference of 11 prestigious universities throughout the country. In 1979 the Big East Conference was formed, and then in 2013 it split up into two new conferences: the new Big East Conference and the American Athletic Conference. The AAC is a Power 6 Conference making it one of the best athletic conferences in the country with athletes and teams performing at the highest level of skill compared to other competitors at their level. Sports sponsored by the AAC are baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, cross country, football, golf, women’s lacrosse, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, softball, swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, indoor track & field, outdoor track & field, and women’s volleyball. Listed below are the member universities of the American Athletic Conference.

Wichita State University

Wichita State University joined the AAC in 2017 as the newest member. Since then, WSU has won four total AAC championships. In the 2020-2021 season Wichita State won an AAC championship title for softball.

  • The University of Tulsa

    University of Tulsa joined the AAC in 2014 and has since won 20 AAC championship titles. Tulsa is a 3-time all-time regular season championship title winner. In the 2020-2021 season Tulsa won championships in women’s cross country men’s cross country.

  • Tulane University

    Tulane University has been a member of the AAC since 2014. Tulane has won one AAC championship and one all-time regular season championship since it joined the AAC.

  • Tulane University
    New Orleans, LA
  • Temple University

    Temple University joined the American Athletic Conference as a founding member in 2013. Since 2013, Temple has won one AAC championship and has three all-time regular season championship wins.

  • Temple University
    Philadelphia, PA
  • Southern Methodist University

    Southern Methodist University joined the AAC in 2013 and has since won 17 American Athletic Conference Championships. In the 2020-2021 season SMU won championships in rowing and men’s swimming & diving.

  • University of South Florida

    University of South Florida joined The American in 2013. Since 2013, USF has won 18 American Athletic Conference championships.

  • University of Memphis

    University of Memphis joined the AAC in 2013. Since 2013, Memphis has won four American Athletic Conference championships.

  • University of Memphis
    Memphis, TN
  • University of Houston

    University of Houston joined the AAC in 2013 and plans to leave the conference in 2024 along with UCF and Cincinnati. Houston has seven total all-time regular season championship wins. Since it joined in 2013, Houston has earned the most AAC championship wins with 28 titles. In 2021 Houston won championships in men’s basketball, women’s swimming & diving, women’s outdoor track & field, and men’s outdoor track & field.

  • University of Houston
    Houston, TX
  • East Carolina University

    East Carolina University joined The American in 2014. ECU has won two all-time regular season championships. Since 2014, the ECU has won a total of six American Athletic Conference championships.

  • East Carolina University
    Greenville, NC
  • University of Cincinnati

    University of Cincinnati joined the AAC in 2013 as a founding member but plans to leave the conference in 2024. In the 2020-2021 season, Cincinnati were AAC champions in football. Overall, Cincinnati have been all-time regular-season champions seven times.

  • University of Cincinnati
    Cincinnati, OH
  • University of Central Florida

    University of Central Florida has been a member of the AAC since 2013 and has announced that it will depart from the conference in 2024. In the 2020-2021 season UCF were AAC champions in women’s golf, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, and volleyball.

  • F43DB07C-E631-43A5-9C99-000231808F35
    Scholarship Tips

    Want to find money for school that doesn’t need to be paid back? Access insights and advice on how to search and apply for scholarships!

    Find Scholarships