MIT/RSI chances (IB American citizen)

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: High School Life and Pre-college Issues: May, 2003 and Earlier Archive: MIT/RSI chances (IB American citizen)
By Omkar on Saturday, November 02, 2002 - 10:18 am: Edit

Do you think I can get into MIT? Its summer program, RSI (www.cee.org/rsi)? I'm in 11th grade.

Academics:

International Baccalaureate Diploma (graded 1 - 7)

Current Grades

Math HL 7
Physics HL 7
Chem HL 7
Business HL 7
French B SL 7
English SL 6
TOK/Extended Essay - (probably a 3 / 3)

SAT Scores (somewhat speculative)

PSAT 240 (2 practice tests)
SAT I 1600 (most recent 5 practice tests all 1600; others >1550)

SAT II Math IIC 800 (2 practice tests; Math HL grade)

Writing: 750 (5 practice tests, but could improve)

I'm planning to take Physics, but don't have enought information to predict.

Other academics:

Self Taught additional calculus (for CAS credit)- I just finished almost all of the IB Math HL (= AP Calc BC) curriculum and am moving on to basic multivariable calc.

Extended Essay: Usually started in January, but I've got some results. I'm studying sandpiles.

Extracurriculars:

Origami (beginning to fold 'complex' models ex: Kirschenbaum's Fluffy)

Tae Kwon Do (black, but unrecognised. Am training for WTF certicifation)

Debate

I'll probably be made a prefect in a couple months.

What do you think?

By Joe Smith on Tuesday, November 12, 2002 - 05:57 pm: Edit

You got a lot of things on your plate but you seem more than a little conceited.

By Collegeguy on Thursday, November 14, 2002 - 05:19 pm: Edit

Well, sometimes when you work hard it's OK to boast once in a while.

Great stats!

By yce on Tuesday, November 26, 2002 - 04:44 am: Edit

I don't mean to pop bubbles etc etc but you're an American citizen and have a 6 in English SL?

I'm in the last year of the IGCSE program (10th grade), and making my IB selections - so that's a little scary.