Advice Needed, Please Help!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: High School Life and Pre-college Issues: May, 2003 and Earlier Archive: Advice Needed, Please Help!
By Charlotte on Sunday, September 15, 2002 - 06:18 pm: Edit

I am a sophomore in high school with some major questions...I went to a very small,(and im talking SMALL), private catholic middle school..the kind where you basically get either credit or no credit. So, of course my study skills going into highschool were not so great. This problem and my mistakes of stupidity (such as getting caught up in the party scene, peer pressure, and my teenage wannabe rebellion stage) caused me to completely bomb my freshman year. I was always told freshman year didnt count, dont worry about it and etc...but I realize now that I am going to have to do a LOT of work to make up for it and improve if I want to even get into a 4 year college. My first choice for a college right now is UCSB (santa barbara)...What do i need to do in order to get into this school? Im going to have around 100 community service hours before I graduate (my private high school requires it..), I went on a student intensive language program in Spain for a month last summer,I plan to join clubs, Im on the yearbook staff (im also most likely going to be the editor senior year), I do computer programming,I plan to get into more leadershiplike activities soon, such as coaching a kids soccer team, Im not taking any AP courses...(due to the freshman year antics), Should I really try to get into ap courses? Are they really that impairative? What else do I need for UCSB? Thank you.. I hope someone can help!

By BBB on Friday, September 20, 2002 - 11:02 pm: Edit