Urgent help needed !!!!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Individual Schools: US News Top 25: Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2004 Archive: Urgent help needed !!!!
By Canadian (Canadian) on Tuesday, March 16, 2004 - 02:32 am: Edit

Hey guys !

This is totally off topic but I need very sincere advice.

I am a 2nd year EECS student at McGill Univ. in Canada. I am interested in doing research in Energy and Electromagnetic systems. One of my proffs who teaches Electromagnetics offered me to do research with him over the summer ( ofcourse I went to him and asked if I could do such kind of thing). Now the thing is that since this research is voluntary ( I approached him), he said he has no money to pay me. But he has lots of work for me. I accepted the offer since I need some good research experience to apply to grad school in teh US.

I told this to one of my friends. And he has been condemning my decision. He says working for 4 months without a pay is ridiculous. You'll just get to watch what he is doing and he won't let you do anything. Atleast he should pay you for basic amneties like housing and food. He says that he also went to some proff and asked for summer research position. He said that the proff told him that he won't pay him and he won't let him do any manjor work.

Now I am very confused. On my part, I believe it's what I make of this whole experience. I have never done research before adn I think, if I show passion and take initiative, the proff will obviously be interested in offering me more work. On the other hand, the things which my friend's telling me is disturbing to me.

I am in a dillema.

Please help

Thanks a lot.

By Canadian (Canadian) on Tuesday, March 16, 2004 - 04:12 am: Edit

bump

urgent

By Collegeboarders (Collegeboarders) on Tuesday, March 16, 2004 - 05:00 am: Edit