I really need some help for the interview

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Individual Schools: US News Top 25: Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2004 Archive: I really need some help for the interview
By Amagetdon01 (Amagetdon01) on Tuesday, December 16, 2003 - 11:31 pm: Edit

Hello. I'm a aspiring MIT student, and I have a interview this upcoming saturday. But I have no idea what to say! I'm not even fluent in English, so this interview is making me really nervous. So I was wondering if u guys who already had the interview could tell me what kind of questions you were asked, and some tips, the do's and don'ts, so I can at least prepare what to say.
I'm open to any suggestions. Thanks!

By Over30 (Over30) on Wednesday, December 17, 2003 - 01:32 am: Edit

I copied this from a November post by Northstarmom. Hope it helps.

The most important thing that you can do to prep for an interview is to take the time to carefully read the college's web page. Make a list of questions that you have as a result of doing this.

I interview for my college, and few things annoy me more than students who ask me very basic questions about the college. Virtually all students whom I have interviewed, have clearly not done any research on my college (which is one of the country's most well known ones).

One thing that all interviewers will want to know is why you're applying to the college. A thoughtful reason is what they hope to hear not something vague such as, "People told me it's a good college."

Interviewers also hope to hear that you have questions indicating some kind of intellectual interest in the colllege.

"What are the dorm rooms like?" isn't an example of a good question to ask. And someone did ask me that question! Such questions also are typically answered on college's web pages.