Does MIT care about....

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Individual Schools: US News Top 25: Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2004 Archive: Does MIT care about....
By 21someone21 (21someone21) on Friday, December 12, 2003 - 08:31 pm: Edit

Obviously MIT is a math/science school but do they care about History/Humanities and Art classes to show that you are well rounded?
Would sending art slides in with my application help even if I am majoring in math(unless I go to an art school). My school doesn't have very many AP classes and there were only 2 choices junior year( History or English). Does MIT even care if I took AP History?

By Binks (Binks) on Friday, December 12, 2003 - 08:37 pm: Edit

I think that MIT will be impressed that you are interested in the humanities as much as the sciences. Although, I'm sure they'ld like to see just as many AP math and science classes as well as humanities classes...for one thing, the lowest course for math here is 18.01...which states Calculus AB as a prerequisite. So naturally, you can assume that certain AP's and classes will factor more than others.

By 21someone21 (21someone21) on Friday, December 12, 2003 - 08:46 pm: Edit

I took Calc at FSC sophmore year and I will probably take AP Calc AB (but take the BC test) next year. The only AP science class my school is AP Bio( I probably will take it just because it is an AP class) + Physics(my school only has Honors). I will probably take more college classes during the summer.

By Amilee04 (Amilee04) on Monday, December 15, 2003 - 12:47 am: Edit

Binks....I just finished second semester calc at a UW school (with A)...should i take the BC exam to ensure credit? If I wind up at MIT, I don't want to have to retake things in the event that the credits wouldn't transfer. Thanks :)

By Binks (Binks) on Monday, December 15, 2003 - 02:07 am: Edit