Williams Early Decision

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: August 2004 Archive: Williams Early Decision
By Hopemanjkjk (Hopemanjkjk) on Saturday, August 28, 2004 - 12:55 pm: Edit

Hello.. I am an international student from Korea, who is currently Residing in Texas. Here are my stats

SAT I (plan to retake for higher grade)
Math: 800
Verbal:740 (good chance of improving this october)

SAT II
Korean : 800
Math IIC : 800
Chemistry : 800
Writing : planning to take expecting 750~800

Highschool (Suburb Austin)
GPA : 3.92/4.00 5.45/6.00(weighted)

Courses

Junior

Ap eng III
Ap Us History

Senior

AP Bio
AP Chem
AP Eng
AP Stat
Ap Calc
AP Gov
AP Eco

AP scores : Not disclosed ( I don't like 4's I got)

Extra Curricular:

UIL Math Team Captain (been in there 4 years)
Various Math Awards from Interdistrict Competitions (lots of 1st and 2nd)
Chosen By Austin Rotary to attend Camp Enterprise
Engineering club Secretary
Texas Alliance of Minority Engineers Secretary
Church Praise Team (Keyboard/Piano) 3 years
Piano 4 years ( hopefully will win some awards. My teacher is very famous in the nation and she will write me a stellar recommendation. Started with her last summer)
Dallas Innercity Mission Trip (7 days)
Teacher's Assistant in Elementary and Middleschool Kids for Summer school. Taught English + Math (Volunteer) (200+ hours)
Various Community service (50+ hours)
Hospital Volunteer (30+hours)

Work Experience
I cannot work since my visa (F-2) doesn't permit to do so

Unofficial Work Exp.
Tutor - Worked Freshman~Senior
Taught various subjects - TOEFL, SAT I Math, PreCal, Physics, Algebra II (taught about 9 kids)
Love Computer - Work as computer technician. (Built about 12 computers. Fixed countlessly many)

Stellar Recommendations expected. I heard Williams is Hard to get into.. Do I have chance?
Will Early Decision significantly improve my chance of being accepted?