22 year old transfer student, army vet, 4.0 GPA, chances?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: August 2004 Archive: 22 year old transfer student, army vet, 4.0 GPA, chances?
By Rls (Rls) on Wednesday, August 25, 2004 - 02:45 pm: Edit

Hello all, I am a 22 year old male African-American community college student. After two semesters, I have a 4.0 GPA at the school I'm attending. I've been out of school for 5 years because I went into the Army. I am also a veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom. I'm working hard to gain credit hours in general education coursework in order to transfer to a larger university in Fall '05. When I apply to colleges in January, I will have around 31 credit hours (although I think only around 20 will transfer), and I will be in the middle of taking 12-15 more. NYU and USC are my dream schools, but I don't know if I have a shot. As of now, I don't have a lot of extra activities to put on my transcript because I work 30 hours a week at a second job in addition to carrying a full time load at school and working with the Army Reserve. I'm in Colorado right now, but I'm fortunate enough to qualify for a veterans program which will pay tuition and fees for any school I get accepted to. I am planning to apply to Northwestern, Pepperdine, NYU, USC, CU-Boulder, and Boston University. I'd like some honest feedback about what you all perceive my chances to be. I am dead serious about school, and all I need is to get my foot in the door and I know I will excel.

By Ohio_Mom (Ohio_Mom) on Wednesday, August 25, 2004 - 07:28 pm: Edit