Discus: What Are My Chances?: August 2004 Archive: UNC-CH Chances, Others
By Hawaii2233 (Hawaii2233) on Monday, August 23, 2004 - 09:46 pm: Edit

SAT 1390: 720 Verbal, 670 Math
SAT IIs: US History 710, World History 760
APs: 5 Environmental Science, 4 English Language
GPA: 4.55 (Weighted) 3.9 (Unweighted)
Class Rank: 21/455
Probable Major: Economics

I'm half Asian-half White and wondering about my chances mostly at UNC-CH and NC-State. I'm a North Carolina resident so that will lower the standards a tad... I also would like to know what you think my chances are at some of the more elite schools, like Georgetown or even Duke, though I really don't consider these options at this point.

I have no extracurricular activities that I could list to a college: this is due somewhat to the fact that I never wanted to any of those silly things, but mostly due to the fact that I have attended five different high schools in very diverse locations (Hawaii, Utah, and NC for example,) which rendered the possibility of attempting any long-term ec's practically impossible.

My class rank is also a little unfair due to the fact I moved around so much. The schools in Hawaii and Utah offered very few honors and no AP courses, so I am permanently at a disadvantage as compared to students who have been able to gain bonus points on their GPA.

Thanks for you input!

By Hawaii2233 (Hawaii2233) on Tuesday, August 24, 2004 - 07:55 pm: Edit

By Hawaii2233 (Hawaii2233) on Wednesday, August 25, 2004 - 03:57 pm: Edit

By Jamimom (Jamimom) on Wednesday, August 25, 2004 - 04:23 pm: Edit