My prospective list as a film student.

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: August 2004 Archive: My prospective list as a film student.
By Kabir88 (Kabir88) on Friday, August 13, 2004 - 05:18 pm: Edit

Hey....first post....

I have a 1210 SAT for my first try, and I am applying to the following (prospective list)

NYU - Early Decision
Indiana University - Bloomington
University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Emerson College
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Syracuse
University of Florida (backup) (I am a Florida resident)

I am looking to do Film but more generally something definitely in Communications. My school is the #2 school in the Southeast. Class rankings are very skewed because my school is also the school that puts out the most acceptances to Ivy League schools out of any high school in Florida and top in the nation.

My E/C list is good I feel:

Official PAID Camera Man for Sporting Events Filmed for school.
Internship with a major production company editing video, digital imaging, and contributed to still photography of the companies demo reel.
Founder and President of Guitar Club,
Prom Advisor,
1 year Varsity football along with training
1 year other JV sport Etc etc.....
1 summer voluntary camp counselor at Camp Rockmont in North Carolina
Joined Habitat for Humanity to Build Homes for the underprivileged.

Basically I want to know what my chances might be....what is the hardest on my list what is the easiest (maybe a ranking of all of those I have listed)
Any other suggestions are more than welcome and encouraged!
Thanks for any replies.
-Kabir

By Kabir88 (Kabir88) on Friday, August 13, 2004 - 05:19 pm: Edit

Oh...also I have read NYU accepts 45% of their ED applicants.
My college counselor never really made it seem like it was the HARDEST place to get into, especially for people in my school.