GEORGETOWN SFS chances?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: August 2004 Archive: GEORGETOWN SFS chances?
By Miscgrl (Miscgrl) on Friday, August 06, 2004 - 11:43 pm: Edit

Hi, I have a very strong interest in international relations and politics - and I love cities, so Georgetown seems to be the best match for me. But I really don't know what my chances are. I'm looking at the School of Foreign Services, so if you could tell me what ya think, that'd be great. Thanks!

SATI:

Verbal 800
Math 640
(Was sick during math, left room, left 5 questions blank....you get the picture. Retaking October - anticipate 700+ Math [1500+ SATI combined])

SATII:

Writing 740
Spanish 740
US History 720

also: Bio 720, Math IIC 700, World History 690
(do they care after the top 3?)

APs:

World History 5 (self taught)
Comp Govt 4
Spanish 4
US History 5

Next Year APs:

Micro
Macro
Calc AB
Stat
Spanish Lit
US Govt (self-teach)

GPA: 3.8 or 3.9, not really sure (grades fell last term)

Also, my school doesn't rank, although class rank seems to be a biggie @ georgetown. Thank goodness tho - the top 25% of my VERY competitive high school has a 4.0 out of 4.0 unweighted GPA. (Can you say, ouch?)
ECs:

President and Founder of "The Beatles and Beyond Club" - 4 years

Student newspaper writer - 2 years

Big Sib/Little Sib mentoring program - 1 year

Spanish Honors Society

Cambridge College Program -
2 college courses - A and B+

Columbia Summer High School Program

That's basically it.

I also have one more question....

I'd like to apply EA, but my grades did fall a bit (from a 95 to an 89 through the two terms of junior year) - should I wait for regular app so that my senior grades will show? (expecting much better this year.) I know I have nothing to lose by applying EA, but is it worth it or should I apply somewhere else EA where I have a better shot? (If so, where....)

Thanks again!!!!