Relative lack of ECs.... but I don't care!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: August 2004 Archive: Relative lack of ECs.... but I don't care!
By Kamelia (Kamelia) on Thursday, August 05, 2004 - 02:37 pm: Edit

Okay. Here I go, joining the hundreds of "look at my stats and tell me that I can get into college" posts.

The big question. Are extracurricular activities actually so very important? I'm a good student, but I'm not terribly "involved." The activities at my school seem (to me anyway) superficial and badly organized. So I haven't really bothered. But I will be mad if my hermit lifestyle is going to mean that I don't get into the colleges I want (I'm looking at the Williams/Middlebury etc. Liberal Arts places, also Dartmouth, Stanford (both parents are alums), maybe Brown, Vassar.)

Here is my info:

SAT/ACT: 1530(770 V 760 M)/Composite 36
SAT II: 800 Writing, 800 2C, 750 Latin
GPA: 4.0 unweighted
Good, but not fabulous, public school in MN
Classes: Mostly honors, 3 APs by senior year (my school doesn't offer too many): 5 on AP Calc
Rank: 1/460ish, but share rank with like fifteen other people. I don't know my weighted rank yet.

ECs:
NHS 11, 12
Key Club 9-12
Model UN 10-12, hopefully will be co-in charge person this year
Link Crew for half of 11th
Member of my school's International Relations club thing, with means essentially nothing.
Latin club, which meets for about ten minutes a year and does basically nothing except elect officers.

Other things:
I've had a part-time job in a Kumon (tutoring) center for more than a year. I also work 15 or so hrs in a bookstore.
Gold Medal on National Latin Exam
Semifinalist in Fountainhead Essay Contest
National Merit person, should be at least a semifinalist.
I skipped a year of Latin by doing independent work in the summer, and also did a major self-directed Psych research paper last year.
Not a sports person.