Chances: ED at Carleton?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: August 2004 Archive: Chances: ED at Carleton?
By Zachfax (Zachfax) on Tuesday, August 03, 2004 - 09:22 pm: Edit

hey, if I apply ED to carleton, what do you think my chances are of getting in?

Here are the stats:

Hi My name's Zach, I'm a white male and I was born in Santa Monica CA, and i moved to wisconsin in 4th grade. I live in a very small Wisconsin town. The average amount of people from each class here who finish college is like 4%. My school stopped offering AP's this year because of money reasons, but i took AP BIO online last year but i didn't take the AP test. But, i think my school gives a great education if you take advantage of it. My dad is an electrician, but currently unemployed and my mom paints rooms. I am a first generation college student.

Took the ACT twice and my best score was a 27 but that was on 3 hours of sleep lol, so i will be taking it again this fall

I will be taking 3 SAT II's which i think i can do good on: Writing, Math IIC, and Bio

My classes for next year are: Band, Senior English, Social Problems (very tough college prep writing/current event class),
Calculus, precalc teachers aid, advanced physics (my second physics class), college prep chem (3rd chem class), and independent health(required). I've taken 3 years of Bio including AP.

My class rank is like 6/90... About 4 of the kids above me have artificially raised their GPA with a bunch of BS classes... my GPA is somewhere around 3.8-3.9 i got a B in AP bio, and our school does the 12 point scale for rankings and i have an 11.75/12, a 12 being straight A+'s.

4 Year Band Member (I also am a 4 year volunteer jazz band member) and I've volunteered for pep band for about 1-2 hours a week/8 months every year for 4 years.

I was in choir and chamber choir for 2 years but because of scheduling conflicts I wasn't able to take it this year and last