Non trad needs help!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: Non trad needs help!
By Movingonup (Movingonup) on Sunday, March 23, 2003 - 12:36 am: Edit

To make a terribly long story short, I did not do as well as I could in high school (I graduated with honors in 1997 from a competitive public high school) because I was horribly bullied and suicidal a lot. I always wanted to go to college but lost the courage after years of being told by peers (and some teachers) what a loser I was. I am a member of Mensa, thanks to an IQ test in elementary school. I want to go to one of the following schools but do not know how to prove I can. Any tips are welcomed. Below are my overall stats. I always took honors courses and had dozens of ECs. I have also worked as a professional writer.

FRESHMAN YEAR

Algebra I C, B
English B, A
Religion B, B
Spanish I B, B
World Hist. C, C
Health, P.E. A, B
Earth Science C, C

SOPHOMORE YEAR

English A, A
Religion A, A
Journalism I A, A
Keyboarding A
Computer Sci. A
Biology C, B

JUNIOR YEAR

English C, A
U.S. Hist. C, B
Oceanography B, B
Psychology C
Sociology B
Journalism II B, A

SENIOR YEAR

English C, C
Government B, B
Chorale A, B
Journalism 3 B, B
Geometry A, A
Business Math A, A
Psychology D

My high school GPA ended up being about 3.3. It was not nearly what I was capable of. My guidance counselors told me I was too stupid to go to college and not to bother trying to take higher language, math, science, etc. I am by no means stupid. I fell through the cracks, and was in too much personal pain to do my own research.

Some of my ECs are (I can't remember them all)

Habitat for Humanity
Girl Scouts
Newspaper editor
Yearbook editor
Literary Magazine
SCA
president of Library Club
hundreds of hours of volunteering at museums, youth service programs
Writing for local newspapers.
Who's Who all the way through high school.
co captain of Debate Team
Choir
Model United Nations