What do you think?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: What do you think?
By Dwaynehoover (Dwaynehoover) on Tuesday, March 18, 2003 - 11:55 pm: Edit

I'm a sophomore in highschool right now, I was just wondering if there is anything on my "portfolio" that might be needed to get me into my preferred colleges in order of preference:

1. Upenn(wharton) -- ED
2. MIT (sloan)
3. Northwestern
4. UC Berkeley (Haas)
5. Duke
6. Georgetown

Ok here is some generic information
School: Private High School in New England, one of the presitigous "seven"--i omit the school name for purposes of indiscrimination. Most important part is that all students there are collegebound and the majority go to top 25 Colleges and the school has sat average of 1400. Basically it is COMPETITIVE as hell.
GPA: 3.9 My school does not weight considering all courses are at advanced level..
PSAT: 218 (Fall 2002)
SAT: 1500 (800m, 700v)(January 2003)
AP's: US History(have not taken) Calc A,B,C(exam not taken yet), Micro+Macro Econ(Junior Year), Statistics (Senior Year), Physics B+C (Junior Year),
SAT II's: Writing(Projected 600-750), US History(proj.750-800), Math IIC(proj.750-800)

----
Ec's, Awards, Hobbies etc.

1. With same PSAT score next year, I will most likely be National Merit Finalist.
2. AMC Math winner into 2nd round
3. I'm hoping all get into the physics olympic team, 2 kids from my school get it every year.
4. Award winning US History term paper (www.tcr.org)
5. Varsity Squash(freshman-senior)--currently ranked #1 -- will be nationally ranked in Under 17's this summer. Voted captain for next year.
6. Have been playing piano for 5 years, have done recitals--will include video of me performing.