Emory Chances

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: Emory Chances
By David506 (David506) on Tuesday, March 18, 2003 - 09:12 pm: Edit

Hey I am a sophomore from a South Florida School. I know its kinda early but I want to know if I have a good chance of getting into Emory, as of right now

Please also comment on what I should do or not continue to do over the next two years

4.85 weighted GPA
Tied for 2nd out of 814
I'm already in one AP (how many should i take the next two years? And which ones?)
Key Club- 2 years
Mu Alpha Theta- 2 years
SADD- 2 years
Save What's Left- 1 year
Model UN Treasurer
Class of 2005 School Advisory Council Rep.
I am also on the Newspaper Staff and am 99% sure that I will be sports editor next year
Volunteer at Hospital, February-September 2002
Teen aide at Church September- Present

Please let me know, Thanks!

By Cruelfate (Cruelfate) on Tuesday, March 18, 2003 - 09:23 pm: Edit

As a South Florida resident who applied to Emory I would say that as a Junior you seem to be in good shape. My main advice would be to do well on your SATs and SAT IIs while you are still a junior - that is the best time to focus on that sort of thing. Your ECs are ok, but nothing out of the ordinary. Perhaps you should try and find something to do that is exciting and unique. You might want to consider attending some sort of summer program perhaps?
Emory has something called "Emory Scholars" which is a scholarship worth a full ride. You can apply for this in your senior year but you need to make sure you are NOMINATED for it by your guidance councelor. I think if you can find some exciting ECs and 1400ish SAT scores you should be fine.