Transfer chances

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: Transfer chances
By Thepiskickass (Thepiskickass) on Thursday, March 13, 2003 - 11:40 pm: Edit

i'm a sophomore in hs at the moment. i'm planning on taking my GED and attending either CC or State College(probably) for the next two years rather than dying of boredom in hs. after that i'm planning on tranferring to MIT or CalTech. do i have any chances of getting in? i'm confused about transfer admissions.

By Kelly_Johnson (Kelly_Johnson) on Thursday, March 13, 2003 - 11:46 pm: Edit

I kind of doubt it. Really, how many people do you think get into MIT from a community college? I have a cousin that didn't get into MIT from Stanford! Stay in high school. If your courses are boring, take honors or AP. If you can not do that, you can try dual enrollment with a local community college

By Kalitiha (Kalitiha) on Thursday, March 13, 2003 - 11:51 pm: Edit

Yeah, I think most states have a postsecondary enrollment law where your high school has to pay for courses at a college if they don't offer the course in your school. At least, that's how it is in Iowa; I've done a lot of classes that way.

By Kelly_Johnson (Kelly_Johnson) on Thursday, March 13, 2003 - 11:55 pm: Edit

Another thing about your chances: My cousin had a perfect GPA in the honors program, he was 16 when he started college, he won a billion awards, he worked for NASA, and he did a lot of campus research projects at Stanford. That is just the tip of the iceberg!