PLEASE RATE MY CHANCES OF GETTING INTO NYU!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: PLEASE RATE MY CHANCES OF GETTING INTO NYU!
By Shiloh_Gray (Shiloh_Gray) on Wednesday, March 12, 2003 - 07:38 pm: Edit

Tisch School of the Arts, that is...

Hi!, I am a sophomore, and I go to a school in the North Atlanta suburbs that offers only 6 periods (because they suck down here), but the school is pretty good academically.

LAST SEMESTER GPA: 4.17 out of 4.00 (straight A's, one AP A, adding the .17)

CURRENT SEMESTER GPA: 4.00 out of 4.00 (straight A's, one low B in AP [new teacher makes it REALLY hard!]

FRESHMAN YEAR: Mostly A's, a few B's, and one C the last semester.

EXTRA CURRICULARS, so far (MOST IN MY CLASS):

Drama Club (9,10)
Literary Magazine (9,10)
Art Club (10)
Amnesty International (10), ONLY sophomore!
Interact (10)
Key Club (10)
Latin Club (10)
Mock Trial (10)
Model UN (10)
WeServe (10), [a spec ed. service club]
Voices of Culture (10), [a culure club]
Yearbook Staff (10)- ONLY sophomore!

EXTRA-CURRICULARS, later on:
Beta Club (11, 12)
National Honor Society (11, 12)
SGA (11, 12)
Cabinet (11, 12) [maybe]
Interclub (11, 12)

I'd also like to found a club (or refound), Thespians.

PSAT scores:

This year's, 47% verbal, 63% math, could of done WAY better! This was before taking Geometry, or any SAT Prep classes.

Last year's, slightly lower.

FINACIAL AID/ ETC.:

I definetly need something! I live with a single parent, in a middle-class home, if that helps. I'm also black (w/ Cuban and Native American), if that helps anything!

THE ARTS (Top of my head):

*1992- First School Production, "Three Little Pigs", I was in kindergarten. I played the third pig, lol. I remember us making props and such. Long ago...