Advice for a would-be History Major

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: Advice for a would-be History Major
By Chris_S (Chris_S) on Tuesday, March 11, 2003 - 07:36 pm: Edit

Hello, I'm new here. I was wondering if any of you had any advice for me. I'm a sophomore in high school right now and have some questions. First, some info:
I live in a small town in Iowa.
My GPA is 3.524 unweighted. I got all A's first semester this year though, so I am improving. Plus, I've never gotten below a B.
My class rank is 59/234 but many people in my class take the easy classes just to get A's. I've taken every AP class offered to me.
I haven't taken the SAT or ACT yet. But earlier this year, I did take the ITED (Iowa Tests for Educational Development) I was in the 99th percentile for BOTH Iowa students and all students nationally. It predicted my my ACT to be 27-31 (highest it predicts) and SAT to be 1230 - 1460 (Again, that's the highest it will predict.)
I also took the PLAN test earlier this year. I was in the 99th percent for all students nationally. It predicted my ACT to be 26-30 (once again, the highest it will predict)
I want to be a History Major, preferably on the East Coast, not in Iowa. I dislike my home state.
I don't talk much in class. I never raise my hand, and I like doing things by myelff as opposed to in groups.

Now, the questions:
What would be some good colleges for a person like myself?
Would I be better in a big school or a smaller school?
I've looked at Boston U and Lafayette College. Are these good schools?
Also, my parents don't think that I can do anything with a History degree. Any answers that you guys have that might put their mind at ease?