Are my chances slim?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: Are my chances slim?
By Sunj (Sunj) on Monday, March 10, 2003 - 10:54 pm: Edit

What are my chances of getting accepted into an ivy league school, mit, or caltech?

I was a horrible high school student. I dropped out for 4 months and got my GED then I went back to high school to complete my degree with the rest of my class, graduating with a 2.0 in the year 2000.

I took a bit of time to break from school and to work.

Now I'm in a community college and i have a 4.0 gpa, a 1580 on my SAT 1 (800 M, 780 V), won 3 national literary art competitions, member of Phi Theta Kappa (national honors society), published in school and national honors society anthology, I'm in the all-state academic team, community college tutor, and a member of the math club.

And my volunteer work includes tutoring elementry children and helping out on the national honors society events.

also... i am going to enter the a mathematics competition sponsored by AMATYC (American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges)... My math instructer feels I have a good chance of placing in the state ranks.

I'm a physics major and I might double in creative writing.

Oh yeah... I'm not sure if this would help, but I'm also Samoan. ANd out of all my close friends (7 of us) only two of us graduated from high school... me being one of them. <---I was thinking that maybe that could be mentioned in my essay?

If I don't have a chance yet, then what could I do to improve it (if any)?

Thanks,
Jason

By Quarky (Quarky) on Monday, March 10, 2003 - 11:07 pm: Edit

no, we dont like literary art people in here....

joshing ya, man. I don't know about transfer admissions, so let's wait for someone else to answer. Best of luck!!!

By Piccolo (Piccolo) on Monday, March 10, 2003 - 11:45 pm: Edit