Battle of the High Schools

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: Battle of the High Schools
By Olive_Oil (Olive_Oil) on Sunday, March 09, 2003 - 08:58 pm: Edit

I am an eighth grade student applying to private high schools. I applied to six schools in San Francisco, but two of them are my first choices. I cannot at all decide between the two. I'd appreciate any opinions on which one I should attend--

School #1: St. Ignatius College Prep (http://www.siprep.org)
I go to a parochial school in San Francisco, and about half of the people in my class go to SI every year, so I would already have friends at the school if I went here. It is a pretty large school. It has really good sports teams, and lots of different clubs and extra-curriculars to participate in. The school is good academically, and 96% attend college very year. The main downside for me is that it is very religious. I know many people who go there and really love the school, and I am pretty sure that I would enjoy it.

School #2:San Francisco University High School
(http://www.sfuhs.org)
I don't know anyone at all at UHS, and I have only heard of one person from my school who has ever gone there. It is extremely hard to get into, and has really good academics. (Most of the students attend top-tier universities) When I visited the school, I was very impressed by interesting classes and the motivation of the students. The downside to UHS is that it is pretty small, which means it has a lot less extracurriculars. I know a lot less about the students here then at SI.

What factors should I be considering when looking at these schools? From your own experience in high school, is there anything that you would consider important when choosing a high school? From what I wrote about the two schools, which do you think I should go to?

BTW~ I have pretty much been accepted to both of them, and I need to decide soon!