How many years of foreign language?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: How many years of foreign language?
By Rubenizm (Rubenizm) on Sunday, March 09, 2003 - 12:55 pm: Edit

Hi. RIght now i'm a sophomore and i'm in French 2. I had A's in French 1 and have A's now. I'm gonna take French 3 in junior year. But should i take french4 in senior year?
i don't really want to, and I'm fluent in english, armenian and russian(i lived in armenia for 12 and russian - 2 years). I'm gonna probably apply to UMD, JHU, Cornell and Georgetown. I don't have a lot of EC's though(i'm gonnna up those)

By Mikus (Mikus) on Sunday, March 09, 2003 - 01:05 pm: Edit

It definitely won't hurt you. Go for it. French 4 will do you a LOT more good than Beginning Basketweaving.

By Kalitiha (Kalitiha) on Sunday, March 09, 2003 - 02:22 pm: Edit

Most schools require 4 years of one foreign language. Although, being fluent in two others might influence that admit requirement.

By Autodidact (Autodidact) on Tuesday, March 11, 2003 - 03:21 am: Edit

Take four years. I had an advisor who said his daughter took three and was required to take an additional two years at college. She'd had just enough time to forget (no refresher senior year) part of what she learned and not quite enough time to learn all she needed to know. As a result she tested below the bubble for placement. All foreign languages increase your desirability in a global marketplace or for grad school. Repetez, s'il vous plait, quatre ans!

By Thedad (Thedad) on Tuesday, March 11, 2003 - 11:46 am: Edit

My daughter has done something unusual: 2-3.
Two years of Latin, three of French. She is prepared to take more language in college but wanted a base in both Classic and Modern.

She doubled up and took Latin 2 and French 1 sophomore year.

By Rubenizm (Rubenizm) on Tuesday, March 11, 2003 - 03:31 pm: Edit

thanks fo the advice, i guess some extra sleep won't hurt me