Chances at Ivies and More

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: March 2003 Archive: Chances at Ivies and More
By Brownhopeful (Brownhopeful) on Thursday, March 06, 2003 - 04:11 pm: Edit

This is my first time posting, and I hope this works because I've already tried posting this, and it didn't work at all. So here we go again ...

I was hoping someone could tell me my chances at:

Harvard, Yale, Brown, Dartmouth, Cornell, Georgetown SFS, UC Berkeley, UCLA, (I live in california in case that ups my chances at the uc's)

I'm a white male.
Private high school.
Rank: top 10% (cum laude society) - the only ranking my school does
GPA : 3.92 unweighted
SAT I's: 1520 combined (790 math, 730 verbal)
SAT II's: math IC 700, writing 740, French 800
AP's: English Lit - 5, French Lang - 5
National Merit semi-finalists
I have legacy at Cornell.
EC's:
- interned in a genetics lab for a summer
- volunteered in an academic enriching summer program for under-priviliged middle schoolers.
- 3 years varsity soccer
- 1 year varsity track
- 12 years of piano lessons (i sent tapes)
- 3 years lacrosse
- 2 theatrical productions
- big into visual arts - had my own show in february... (i sent slides)

that's really all i can think of that i put on my apps. those are the only schools i applied to... thanks a lot for helping me!!

By Brownhopeful (Brownhopeful) on Thursday, March 06, 2003 - 04:16 pm: Edit

oh - and also I am the only TA for the photography dept at school, and president of the french club... in case that helps. Thanks so much!

By Healthy_Body (Healthy_Body) on Thursday, March 06, 2003 - 09:51 pm: Edit

looks good. Rank and test scores are in range and extra curriculars look good too, especially if the tapes and slides were good. maybe getting recruited by the art, music, or soccer program would help, but you look good for all the schools. the more competitive schools are kinda random so nobody knows just apply. good luck