Harvard vs. Yale vs. Princeton

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: February 2003 Archive: Harvard vs. Yale vs. Princeton
By JJE on Monday, February 17, 2003 - 11:42 am: Edit

What makes one college better than another, what are the strong and weak points of all, and if accepted to one or more, list why you chose to go there. Thanks

By Thedad (Thedad) on Monday, February 17, 2003 - 12:47 pm: Edit

I believe it's very subjective and that beyond broad brushstrokes within a group of colleges, it's hard to get into absolutes; for instance, of "top" schools, there are probably 50-70 that warrant serious consideration, not just the Ivies.

Philsophically, it's simple: you want the school that will help make you the best possible "you" you can be. At some point, it's impossible to know and you have to make a guess based on various factors. (Note: when I was applying to college as an engineering student, I would have scoffed at such things as "intuition" and "gut instinct." Let's just say that I've become educated over the years.")

Some of the things to consider:

1) What are you peers like? Stimulating or boring? Hypercompetitive, inclined to party, or "just right"?

2) Are there lots of large lecture classes, some or many taught by T.A.'s, or are they more intimate lab/seminar experiences where you really get to engage with the professor and your fellow students?

3) A very simple item, the course catalog: go through course catalogs from the competing schools. Does one school have a lot more "Gee, that class sounds really interesting" classes than another?

4) Where is _your_ balance point between career preparation and life preparation? Some schools--and I think I'll keep my cards face down--prepare you more for one than the other and BOTH are valid approaches, depending on just who you are.