Will it hurt me?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: April 2004 Archive: Will it hurt me?
By Burnasiancorpse (Burnasiancorpse) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 10:04 pm: Edit

I'm now a sophomore in algebra II. Next year I'm taking 5 AP courses, and since I'm not that good at math, I decided not to take math next year so I'll have less to worry about.

I'm getting a private tutor to teach me both pre-calculus and calculus, and in 12th grade, I'll take AP Calculus BC.

Will colleges frown upon me? My math schedule, if goes as planned, will be:

8th grade: Algebra I Honors
9th grade: Geometry Honors
10th grade: Algebra II Honors
12th grade: AP Calculus BC

If I want to go into something like engineering will it hurt?

By Somecanadianguy (Somecanadianguy) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 10:41 pm: Edit

going into engineering w/o being a strong math student isnt really a good idea

By Nicksummers (Nicksummers) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 10:53 pm: Edit

It's easy to "say" you'll take BC, but if you're not a strong math student, you won't get there without a heck of a lot of work. I would highly recommend NOT taking this course. If you must do this private stuff, which is rather odd, then shoot for AB.

Skipping a year of math is OK, but you should forget the private tutoring and take Precalculus in 12th grade. Still, I would encourage you NOT to skip a year of math, as doing so is somewhat questionable from an admissions perspective. And if you're into engineering, it's a bad move...

By Ubercollegeman (Ubercollegeman) on Wednesday, April 21, 2004 - 12:00 am: Edit

Check with your counselor. I know that our school does NOT allow you to self-study math courses and take placement tests for skipping classes.