500 Verbal score.

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: April 2004 Archive: 500 Verbal score.
By Hhboyji (Hhboyji) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 01:56 pm: Edit

I am very ticked off after seeing my April SAT score on the collegeboard website.

Thought I studied...--^

700 M
500 V >> 1200 composite

I've been in US for 2 and a half yrs and I'm junior in high schoool. 3.87 GPA, 10 IB/AP classes by the graduation.

-Girl state participant (this summer)
-Fairfax county leadership program participant (one selected from each school in county)
-Founded 2 clubs/leadership role in 4 clubs overall
-GenderPac conference attendee (w/scholarship)
-Amnesty International Member for 7yrs (group 157 member, freedom writer, member of outfront..etc)
-Volunteered/worked for various political campaigns
-various school/community awards

790 SAT II math IIC
790 Korean SAT II
750 Chemistry SAT II
680 Writing SAT II

DO I STAND A CHANCE to Cornell(ED), wellesley, JHU, Smith, UVA, George Washington, James Madison, George Mason??

What can I do to increase my chance?

By Rachelvish (Rachelvish) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 02:47 pm: Edit

retake! You can take the 700 math- read and study until the retake, and see if you can get a higher verbal score.

By Itscool (Itscool) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 03:11 pm: Edit

You have a chance...dont put all your focus on your test scores...

By Manowar (Manowar) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 04:35 pm: Edit

read, read and read! get that verbal score to at least a 600 and work on those essays then u'll have a good chance at cornell ed.

By Hhboyji (Hhboyji) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 08:58 pm: Edit

bump

By Hertish (Hertish) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 10:20 pm: Edit

hey i was in the same situation last yr when i got 470V for psat after lots of studying (also came from korea in 9th grade)
after studying and reading more, i got a 680 V for this march (i even got a 740V for one of the real sat's)