Minority w/ ok sat and not so good grades (running out of ti

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: February 2003 Archive: Minority w/ ok sat and not so good grades (running out of ti
By dj_cosine on Monday, February 10, 2003 - 01:47 am: Edit

i'm a minority student, w/ a 1520 SAT, and i know some of you think that AA unfairly helps minorities with so-so SAT scores and good grades, but does it help kids like me with pretty good SAT scores and not so great grades. would straight A's this semester dramatically help?

By Tim (Tim) on Monday, February 10, 2003 - 02:20 am: Edit

If everything else is at the same level as your SAT you can probably get in anywhere.

Tim

By bump on Monday, February 10, 2003 - 06:37 pm: Edit

bump

By dj_cosine on Monday, February 10, 2003 - 06:51 pm: Edit

bt thats the thing, my grades aren't anywhere near my sat. like i said, they're pretty bad.

By bump on Thursday, February 13, 2003 - 03:01 am: Edit

bump

By Smac86 (Smac86) on Thursday, February 13, 2003 - 03:16 am: Edit

Hmm... I dunno... You need good grades to get into a good school- the SAT is hardly a measure of one's intelligence... College's are looking for good grades, rather than awesome SAT scores.

By Sato on Thursday, February 13, 2003 - 05:50 am: Edit

There is a reason why 9/10 people at Ivy's have awesome SAT scores. There's also a reason why those who score higher on the SAT do better in college(statistical correlation and the reason why the SAT has lasted decades). However, the test can be prepared for, but a certain amount of basic intelligence is needed to do well. Itís sort of like a one-way valve: smart people can do badly, but dumb people canít do well.

By mac on Thursday, February 13, 2003 - 09:02 am: Edit