What are my odds/anything else to do

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: December 2002 Archive: What are my odds/anything else to do
By sexy sadie on Sunday, May 26, 2002 - 05:18 am: Edit

Hi, I'm a sophomore at nationally recognized public school. My high school has a lot academic competition but a lot of people get A's (mostly though by taking less than hard classes) and sends a lot of people to the Ivies etc. This year alone we are sending people to every Ivy, Stanford, and MIT including five off to Harvard, out of a class of 500-600. All these people worked hard to get there, but, knowing that, I say this because colleges seem to look to our school to fill a few spots every year. I am wondering my chances of admission at these top level schools and what I can do to increase my chances over the next 1.5 years. Here is a summary of my academics/ECs:

4.0, taking nearly the hardest soph. schedule possible (enriched (and accelerated) math, AP bio, enrich composition, a zero hour half the year and all else regular--I have to take regular due to course choice and standards for graduation)

My junior year I am planning on taking the hardest courseload possible with AP Chem, AP US History, Enr. Precalc, Enr. Lit, Enr. Spanish 4, Newspaper, and AP Psych.

EC
*Debate (2nd year, lettered, JV/V, some awards, break rounds at smaller tournaments, speaker awards, NFL awards)
*Speech (1st year)
*Newspaper staff (1st year--also 1st yr possible, since the school is 10th grade thru 12th, will be Features editor next year)
*Youth group (2nd yr, leadership positions including regional community service director, chapter secretary, and chapter health awareness chair, potentially running for regional prez junior year, probably can get excellent recommendation from advisor, active member)
*Spanish club (active, 1 year, received Outstanding Spanish 3 award for class)