Chances at Ivies

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: April 2004 Archive: Chances at Ivies
By Run4fun (Run4fun) on Saturday, March 27, 2004 - 04:48 pm: Edit

Hi,
Im a Junior at an IB school, considering applying to a bunch of Ivy League Schools (Dartmouth, Yale and Penn), also to Stanford, Pomona, Wash. U. and Duke.

SAT (1st time) 1340
SAT (2nd time) 1450
Taking SATII's (Span., IIC and Writing) this May.

Courses @ School: (This is typically considered one of the hardest selection of courses, I think the only thing harder would be Chem HL instead of Econ.)

Physics HL
Econ HL
Math HL
English SL
Spanish A2 SL
Comp. Science SL
Journalism - This is what I devote a lot of time to. I am currently an editor for the News section and am running for Editor in Chief senior year.

EC's: (My greatest passion is running, which I do year round)

Cross Country:
Second Team All-Star Sophmore Year
Third Team All-Star Junior Year
MVP Junior Year
198th @ Footlocker East Coast Championships

Track and Field:
MVP Sophmore Year- Set school record in 800m, 1600m and 4x400m. Still waiting to see what happens this year.

Play on a rec. league basketball team (3 hours a week) in the winter + run indoor track (~5 hours a week)

I participate in a county-sponsored Swim Team in the summer (2 hours a day) and Coach our neighborhood's Developmental Team (ages 5-8, ~ 4 hours a week).

I'm planning to do ~120 hours of service this summer with Habitat (or something similar) and hopefully I will get into an Experimental Econ. course at GMU.

I'm an Hispanic-American (my Dad is American, alum of UC-Berkeley, Mom is Argentine, she never went to college.)

If there is anything else that should be included, plz tell me.

Thank you!

By Run4fun (Run4fun) on Saturday, March 27, 2004 - 04:50 pm: Edit