Bum or no bum ?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Bum or no bum ?
By K_A_T_H (K_A_T_H) on Monday, January 26, 2004 - 11:19 pm: Edit

so i'm new to this thing n i'm tryin this out...so i don't know...i've been pretty desperate lately because according to my parents...i'm not gonna get into ne sort of college.n i'm gonna spend my life recylin cans for a livin..n i've just been so hopeless these days...my dream school is ucla..will someone tell me if i have even the slightest chance to get in???

so far i have 740,780 satIIs (haven't taken math yet) and i just took the sat I...1300 at the least i think( i got 1350 lowest on practice tests)... n my weighted gpa capped at 8 semesters is 4.33 so far (i'm a junior- so that only includes 1st semester junior yr n the 2 soph yrs) i also took some classes at a community college..i don't know if that does anything...
i don't know if i have strong ec..like i'm involved in student gov secretary of class, n i volunteer at stanford hospital n for the red cross..peer tutor..president of reach club..but jus insignificant officer of key club..(jus the usual stuff)
and i do independent research at one of the stanford labs for a bio research project..
but i haven't won any distinct awards for anything..other than this small essay contest thing..
i don't know b/c i feel like i just blend in with everyone and i just feel so stupid around my friends (one is retaking sat 1 b/c he got a 1520, not 1600...i can't even get a 1400! sigh)

neways, do i have any shot at ucla(i'm cali resident)?...it's been my DREAM school since forever..n i'm getting frustrated and i'm slowly losing hope (my gpa went down this semester)...please let me know if, given my stats, i might b able to get in.. [i copied this from another post so if you think you've seen this b4..that's y]

By M6ixty2wo (M6ixty2wo) on Monday, January 26, 2004 - 11:25 pm: Edit