Do I have Any Chances for Columbia?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Do I have Any Chances for Columbia?
By Insntynonchalan (Insntynonchalan) on Sunday, January 25, 2004 - 12:45 am: Edit

I was aiming for UVA before, until I saw Columbia. The school is beautiful, and I believe my heart kind of fell out there. I wouldn't like to get too far ahead of myself, because i have NO idea about the whole college admissions thing, But do I have any chance at all? Should I even bother applying?

I go to emma willard school, in Troy, NY, we dont do the whole class rank or GPA thing, but my grades are almost straight A's. I will have taken approximately 5 AP's by the end of senior year, AP US this year, AP Calc BC next year, as well as AP Euro, AP Physics, and AP Latin, and possibly AP Gov and Politics, depending on what happens with my schedule.

I do Forensics, I've been an LDer since Sophomore year (i'm not a junior) I'm looking at around a 1350 on the SAT's, and I can write awesome essays.

As for More EC, I'm on the Triangle Lit Board, Been playing the Piano since i was 6 years old, and I do Tennis in the fall (section 2 champs woo hoo!) and Track in the Spring.

I don't have any community service yet, and if this is a very must, do you think that i should add some this summer?/

I spent one summer in France, and this summer I'm spending in Canada. I take two languages (French and Latin), that being what i want to major in.

The issue is, This is the 3rd hgih school I've been to. Stability is one thing that I haven't had, and I'm not sure if colleges look for that. My first was private, second was public, and this one is boarding. it was a big thing with family issues, but I am finally where i need to be.

Someone please tell me if there is anything I can do!!

By J0h (J0h) on Sunday, January 25, 2004 - 01:14 am: Edit

columbia college's admissions rate is under 10%.