What happens if I have a failed class?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: What happens if I have a failed class?
By Cjw (Cjw) on Saturday, January 24, 2004 - 05:41 pm: Edit

I'm a pretty good student but I abhor math, and to top that, I went through a tough situation while i took the class which is why I got a D in Trig/Math Analysis. but other than that my grades are good. Do colleges let the D greatly influence their decision? Also, I know my overall GPA is a little low.

These are the colleges I plan to apply to: Boston U, UCLA, UCBerkeley, UCI, USC, Brown.

American Born Chinese female.
SAT I 1420
SAT II Chinese: 770
SAT II Writing: 700
SAT MATH IC: 650
GPA: 3.5

5 APs: English, Psychology, Civics/Econ, Comparative Gov't.

JV Badminton 2 years, 1 year Varsity
Founder & President of Club that raises money to alleviate international poverty
NHS award /club 2 years
SADD - 1 year
Key Club - 1 year
Model United Nations - 4 years
100+ Hours of Community Service
Great teacher recommendations.

By Caliplaya03 (Caliplaya03) on Saturday, January 24, 2004 - 06:10 pm: Edit

Is your 3.5 weighted? Well your sat scores are really good and your sat II's but I think that D might really look bad especially at Brown UCLA and UC Berkeley.I dont know much about the other schools. If you live in cali you might have had a better chance but the UC's really dont like D's. You should have applied to UCD and UCSB they're are good schools and you would have had a better chance of getting in. well g/l with everything.

By Adr531 (Adr531) on Saturday, January 24, 2004 - 07:07 pm: Edit

for the more selective schools like brown, i think itll look bad.

for boston U i wouldnt worry at all.

By Cjw (Cjw) on Sunday, January 25, 2004 - 12:57 am: Edit

Aww are you serious? That's awesome because Boston is my first choice. It's so ideal though.