What chances does my son have?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: What chances does my son have?
By Veryproudmom (Veryproudmom) on Thursday, January 22, 2004 - 10:48 pm: Edit

My wonderful son is 18 and will graduate this year. He wants to go into civil engineering and has applied to the following: UCSB, UC Santa Cruz, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, UCSD, Virgina Tech, Michigan State, Univ. Nebraska- Lincoln & University of New Hampshire. We are Calif. residents, but he is very much considering going out of state. He has a great GPA 4.0, SAT's are V 480 Math 580, SAT II Math 560 and Bio 500. He is also a 4 year varsity swimming and waterpolo player as well as spending 4 years in a new program biotechnology program at his HS. What are his chances on getting into the above schools? Can you tell I'm new at this? He is my first born!

By Mexor (Mexor) on Thursday, January 22, 2004 - 10:55 pm: Edit

UCSB ..40%
UCSC ..55%
UCSD ..20%
UNH ..66%

thats all i know...he has a good gpa but his SATs aren't that high. If hes looking for california schools try CSU's (california state universitys)

By Savedbythebell7 (Savedbythebell7) on Thursday, January 22, 2004 - 11:12 pm: Edit

UC Santa Cruz is the best bet on that list.

By Trojan1444 (Trojan1444) on Friday, January 23, 2004 - 12:05 am: Edit

Don't listen to percents, it is ridiculous to think that anyone, let alone a high school student, can say that someone has a "55%" chance of getting into a college. Please.

He has a fine chance at all of them, but his SAT's might hold him back.

By Northstarmom (Northstarmom) on Friday, January 23, 2004 - 12:34 am: Edit

Look on the colleges' web sites under the admission section. Many colleges will list there the average gpas and SAT scores for accepted students. If your son is in the top 25% or so for most schools, he has a good chance of getting in.