1450 SATs... 40 IB Diploma... applying to top unis

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: 1450 SATs... 40 IB Diploma... applying to top unis
By Smellyjelly (Smellyjelly) on Thursday, January 22, 2004 - 09:44 am: Edit

Hi guys,

I am an international student from India, currently studying in Hong Kong under the IB Diploma program at a United World College. Here are my stats:

IB Dimploma:
40/42 with a 7,7,7 in my highers and 43/45

SAT Is:
710 M
740 V

SAT IIs:
760 Math II C
760 Writing
740 Physics

ECs:
MUN--- train the school team and conduct a schoolwide MUN workshop for 125 students

Badminton ---- I lead the weekly sessions of badminton and act as the coach's assistant. I am also part of the team nad have participated in 3 national tournaments.

India Experience ---- My friend and I have initiated a new EC, through which we teach other students about Indian Culture and have raised 2000HK$ for a NGO in India

CMR ---- A service that I initiated with my friend to help foreigh migrant workers in Hong Kong.

Service Trip To Laos ---- A one week service trip I organised for six students to work in a local school in Laos.

Summer Programs:

Worked as a telemarketer in India for a month
Took a professional course in HTML programming

Research:

Wrote a 4000 word research essay as part of the EE requirement in Mechanics.

I don't have any awards or honors because neither of my schools awarded any. Before coming to Hong Kong I lived in China for three years (hope this helps). My school is one of the best IB schools in the world.

I am applying to MIT, Cornell, Princeton, and Columbia as my reaches and with 10,000$ as fininacial aid. My other schools are Rice, Texas at A&M, UT at Austin, Lafayette, and Virginia Tech. Applying for Engineering.

Thanks.

By Sidster27 (Sidster27) on Friday, January 23, 2004 - 12:12 am: Edit

bump

By Voigtrob (Voigtrob) on Friday, January 23, 2004 - 12:52 am: Edit