Could conneticut be my safety with these stats?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Could conneticut be my safety with these stats?
By Y17k (Y17k) on Monday, January 19, 2004 - 04:05 am: Edit

SAT: 1480 (avg from about 6 sats from 10 RS)
School Rank: 3/120

EC: Violin for ~8 years,
school orchestra for 8 years
school choir for 5 years
kung fu for 1.5 years
Top state orchestra for 1.5 years
Community Service once every 2 weeks (only coz its compulsory in my school >_<)

Awards: Many awards from school, but major ones would be

Prize Winner of the Westpac Math Competition (Top .3% of about 500,000 competitors)

Premier's Award for Legal Studies (Awarded to the top scorer for the subject of legal studies in the state of Victoria)

Btw im an international student currently residing in australia. I want to major in zoology (or possibly astronomy/astrophysics), and others' opinions of reaches/mathes/safeties will be appreciated

By Fallentear04 (Fallentear04) on Monday, January 19, 2004 - 09:24 am: Edit

connecticut what? Connecticut College or University of Connecticut?

By Y17k (Y17k) on Tuesday, January 20, 2004 - 12:28 am: Edit

conneticut college

By Lonelygal (Lonelygal) on Tuesday, January 20, 2004 - 07:18 am: Edit

i'd say it would be a match or low reach....not safety...

meh.....

SAT:1490
Class rank: Top 1% of 250+ students(probably rank 2)

By Sooky6 (Sooky6) on Tuesday, January 20, 2004 - 12:05 pm: Edit

I know saying this is unpopular, but from where I'm standing Conn is a safety for you (particularly if you are male.) Combination of music, math and scores/grades makes you an 99%+ sure bet unless your essay/interview are disastrous. I've seen an awful lot of students from this area get in the there the last few years that don't hold a candle to those numbers.

Check if they have undergraduate majors in any of the three things you mentioned--I'm not sure but I doubt they do.