California student chances at universities

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2003 Archive: California student chances at universities
By hds on Saturday, January 11, 2003 - 12:47 pm: Edit

I am a Vietnamese high school student in Southern California. I have applied to 6 universities. What are my chances at these schools?
UCI
UCR
UCLA
UCSD
CAL TECH
University of Pennsylvania
ACT:22
SAT 2's: Math IC= 620, Writing =540, Literature=450
GPA: 2.9
Ap's taking this year:
AP Spanish
AP Government
AP Statistics
AP Economics
AP Biology
* Planning to take Multivariable Calculus, Psychology and Physics at a community college
EC's
Spanish club
Fine Arts
FBLA
CHESS
Honor ROll
GSE's awards
volunteer at an elementary school as a translator
wrote a decent essay
First generation (mom and dad only completed middle school)

By d on Saturday, January 11, 2003 - 12:51 pm: Edit

How are you on the honor roll with a 2.9 GPA? Good luck getting into Irvine!

By um...no on Saturday, January 11, 2003 - 01:38 pm: Edit

I doubt you'll get into upenn or caltech or UCSD and UCLA, but I think you *might* have a chance at Irvine and Riverside. Your scores are a bit low, but for the lower UC's, I think you'll be fine. You would probably want to consider applying to safeties in the ca state university system.

By hds on Saturday, January 11, 2003 - 05:03 pm: Edit

OH, my weighted gpa is 3.0.

By dyip10 on Sunday, January 12, 2003 - 12:20 am: Edit

LMAO, your GPA is really really sad. You might have a chance at UCR (UC Riverside). UCI or anything better, no way! I mean even the adverage GPA at Riverside is around 3.5, you have a 3.0? lol with all those AP classes, you get a C in everyone or something, my goodness.

By Jane on Sunday, January 12, 2003 - 12:25 am: Edit

Don't count on upenn

By me on Sunday, January 12, 2003 - 01:09 am: Edit

You suck really bad. CALTECH? Biotch please

By you suck on Sunday, January 12, 2003 - 02:23 am: Edit