Will USC accept me?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Will USC accept me?
By Mela (Mela) on Sunday, January 11, 2004 - 11:33 pm: Edit

Hi! USC is my first choice, but I am worried about getting in. Please give me your comments!

* SAT I: 800 Verbal, 590 Math, 1390 Combined.
* SAT II: 770 Writing, 770 Literature, 520 Math IC.

* Student Body President (not your stereotypical one). Trust me, I didn't think I'd win.
* National Honor Society member
* Cofounder and harpist of Clarinet-Flute-Harp Trio
* Student Ambassador
* More than 700 community service hours during high school
* Concert Choir member
* 4.0 unweighted GPA, 4.23 weighted
* 6 APs; AP Euro: 4, AP Eng Lang: 5, the rest I'm taking this year: French Lit, Eng Lit, Music Theory, and Art Hist.
* 4 Honors classes
* Challenging course load all semesters
* Studied harp for 8 years with principal harpist of major orchestra
* Self-taught guitarist
* Performer (harp/guitar/voice) at local venues
* Attended Interlochen Arts Camp Summer 2003

I want to major in Vocal Jazz Studies with minors in Art History and English. I am very prepared for my audition! What are my chances?

Thanks for your time!

By Boatboat (Boatboat) on Sunday, January 11, 2004 - 11:48 pm: Edit

i would say u have a very good shot

By Balkanman21 (Balkanman21) on Monday, January 12, 2004 - 12:53 am: Edit

If you're a Cal res you are in 100% - If you are out-of-state I would give you a 90% shot

By Mela (Mela) on Monday, January 12, 2004 - 01:16 am: Edit

I'm from Los Angeles. I really really really hope you're right!!!

By Calidan (Calidan) on Monday, January 12, 2004 - 01:29 am: Edit

Why would in-state out-of-state status make a difference if USC is a private school?

By Mela (Mela) on Monday, January 12, 2004 - 08:03 pm: Edit

Please help me! If you have any stats, any personal experiences, please send them in. They are greatly appreciated.