A general financial aid question, please help. HIGHLY CURIOU

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: A general financial aid question, please help. HIGHLY CURIOU
By Pacman (Pacman) on Saturday, January 10, 2004 - 10:02 pm: Edit

Hi, I'm a sophomore in college now. I plan to transfer to a different college next year, most likely Harvard or MIT.

They use "need based financial aid" system, which means the amount of money I get depends solely on my family economic power. My current estimate is that my family will need to contribute about $20000 annually (given their income and many others in my area that has been through it)

However, I've won many private scholarships. The total is almost $30000. What do you think this will do to me? Will the school just take away the aid they give to my family because I've won a lot of scholarships? I REALLY hope they give financial aid only considering the family income and not any other factors. Because I REALLY want my parents to not pay a penny.

Someone please help.

By Succor101 (Succor101) on Saturday, January 10, 2004 - 10:17 pm: Edit

congrats on getting lots of scholarships!
sorry to say, but as far as my knowledge goes, colleges subtract scholarship money you get from financial aid package
maybe you could declare yourself independent to get aid...

anyway, I'm really not sure...

By Pacman (Pacman) on Friday, January 16, 2004 - 11:37 pm: Edit

Let me get this straight...so...

let's say Mike got into Harvard. Due to Mike's family's income, Harvard gave Mike some financial aide. Now Mike only need to pay 20000 a year rather than 40000.

But Mike is a great student, he got 10000 in scholarships from private organizations. So you are saying Mike's family still have to pay 20000 a year, the scholarship only benefits Harvard, since it only has to give away 10000(rather than 20000) in aide. Then what's the point of trying so hard for scholarships?