Rate my chances to get into Ivy League Schools

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Rate my chances to get into Ivy League Schools
By Number13islucky (Number13islucky) on Saturday, January 10, 2004 - 01:58 pm: Edit

Hey. I'm a freshman at an IB school.

Stats:

PSAT (freshman year): 72 verbal, 71 math, 80 writing, 223 composite

Grades
A+ average (97+)

Class ranking: top 5 at the least out of 100+ freshman, but I don't study

Extracurricular:
piano, french club, math team (always cipher)

There's probably one extracurricular I'm neglecting to mention, but oh well.

What are my chances of going to Yale, MIT, or Harvard? My dad went to Yale and passed with distinction in many of his classes (in the 70s, they didn't give a numerical grade or GPA).

By Number13islucky (Number13islucky) on Saturday, January 10, 2004 - 02:28 pm: Edit

BTW, I mean going at the normal time after I graduate high school.

By Penn08please (Penn08please) on Saturday, January 10, 2004 - 02:58 pm: Edit

I'm going to be blunt- you're a freshman, too early to even be thinking about that or for anyone to evaluate you. You've been in high school for 6 months, colleges don't usually even look at your freshman year. Study hard for the next 3 years, but I can tell you now that no one can evaluate you.

By Clipper (Clipper) on Saturday, January 10, 2004 - 03:19 pm: Edit

Penn - that is not true. Number13 is laying the foundation of her high school career. Number needs to know that she can't rely on being a legacy to get her in at Yale - who knows how it will be in 3 years. Obviously Number is bright just from the scores of her freshman PSAT but Number needs to think of an EC that she can do well and be distinctive. We have seen from the Yale/Harvard deferral rates this year numbers aren't everything.
Keep up the good work Number - make a name for yourself and never take anything for granted.