Chances at Business Schools

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Chances at Business Schools
By Kant1 (Kant1) on Wednesday, January 07, 2004 - 03:07 am: Edit

I graduated from the College of William & Mary in 1996 majoring in Finance and Economics. I have a BBA and have been working at Morgan Stanley Dean Witter since then. I was wondering what you guys thought my chances were of getting into the top business schools (Harvard, Wharton, etc.). My undergraduate GPA is a 3.45 and I have taken the practice GMAT's with Kaplan and Princeton Review and received on average a 710 (range of 680 - 740).

I know most of the questions on this board are about undergraduate, but any advice would be helpful. The applications for business school is VERY expensive (around $200 each) and I don't want to waste that money if I won't get in.

Thanks.

By Kant1 (Kant1) on Sunday, January 11, 2004 - 04:36 am: Edit

Any comments would be appreciated.

By Xyz155 (Xyz155) on Sunday, January 11, 2004 - 12:47 pm: Edit

If you can get some good teacher recs then I would definatly think that you have a good shot. Your GPA is good, you went to a competitive school, and your GMAT is very good. However, both of those schools are very selective and even tho you are very qualified by no means are you easily in. Best of luck to you.

By Vulcano (Vulcano) on Sunday, January 11, 2004 - 02:42 pm: Edit

Is this the same famous Kant from the PR?

By Shahab (Shahab) on Sunday, January 11, 2004 - 05:13 pm: Edit