Community College Tranfer

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Community College Tranfer
By Kidkoss707 (Kidkoss707) on Sunday, January 04, 2004 - 06:52 pm: Edit

hey everyone
well this is my first post and I have some questions regarding transfering from a community college. In high school I didn't do very well. My Overall GPA was around a 2.0, and I got 1100 on my SAT. I also received a few Golden State exam awards. Now I am at the local community college. I have a 3.5 GPA (I have 4 F's, but I retook the classes, and got A's in all of them, had a terrible first year), I work 25 hours a week in a job that is closely related to my major(work at a la firm in accounting, and my major is business economics), I complete about 50+ hours of community service per semester making web pages for non-profits, I am hispanic, and I have 3 semesters left before I can transfer.I am also in EOPS which is a program designed for first generation college students. I was wondering if my JC grades would over ride my High school grades? Also, is it harder or easier to get in after the JC as opposed to straight out of college? My Top 3 choices for Buisness related majors are:
UCLA
UCSB
UCSD
UCD

Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

By Melbel219 (Melbel219) on Sunday, January 04, 2004 - 09:08 pm: Edit

they don't even ask for your highschool grades or your SAT score.