Chances for International Students to MIT, Stanford, UPenn,

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Chances for International Students to MIT, Stanford, UPenn,
By Honeysnow (Honeysnow) on Saturday, January 03, 2004 - 10:38 pm: Edit

Hello. I'm a high school student from Hong Kong, applying schools listed as follows:
MIT, Stanford, UPenn, Chicago, Northwestern and Washington in St louis.

Does anyone know the stats of the admissions rate for international students of these schools?
i heard from a friend that MIT last year got 120 applicants in HOng kong, admitted 5 but 4 of them are US-citizens. ~_~

By Foreignboy (Foreignboy) on Sunday, January 04, 2004 - 05:20 am: Edit

"MIT last year got 120 applicants in HOng kong, admitted 5 but 4 of them are US-citizens."

Are you sure? MIT's average admittance rate for international students is about 5%. I would have thought that Hong Kong would be able to get more people in than that.

By Honeysnow (Honeysnow) on Monday, January 05, 2004 - 05:48 am: Edit

my friend asked her interviewer and he told her that. i think they should've got official number, right?

what about the other schools?

another news i got, Stanford hasn't admitted any students from local (non-international) schools in Hong Kong for two years..

By Mjl86 (Mjl86) on Monday, January 05, 2004 - 06:26 pm: Edit

HoneySnow, do you go to HKIS? If you do, I love that school!!!!

By Honeysnow (Honeysnow) on Monday, January 05, 2004 - 09:46 pm: Edit

no, mjl86, i go to a local school. by the way, u live in Hong Kong?

hey anyone out there knowing anymore about that?

By Upandover (Upandover) on Tuesday, January 06, 2004 - 08:41 am: Edit

I'm from Malaysia. Hiya. My friend's cousin got admitted to MIT and he was from Hong Kong.

By Acennace (Acennace) on Saturday, January 17, 2004 - 07:38 am: Edit

Hey, Honeysnow...