Taking the SAT IIs while on Vicodin...

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Taking the SAT IIs while on Vicodin...
By Margitte (Margitte) on Saturday, January 03, 2004 - 07:18 pm: Edit

... will not necessarily boost your score. I guess that's what happens when one must take a test while extremely sick. Oh well - can I get your opinions?

MY STATS:
SAT 1: 640 verbal, 640 math
SAT 2 lit: 790; writing: 730; math IC: 530
GPA: 3.76
EC: Drama, Drug/Alcohol Awareness Club, National Honor Society, ASB, PTSA, Camp Counselor, Literary & Arts magazine, 200+ hrs community service.
EXTRA: National Hispanic Scholar

I also got a really good recommendation from my English teacher that ranked me in the top 3% of students he has taught in over 15 years of teaching.

I am a female student applying to Princeton, NYU, Barnard, Whitman, UW and USC - what are my chances?

Thanks so much.

By Margitte (Margitte) on Saturday, January 03, 2004 - 07:29 pm: Edit

what's this whole "bumping" thing?

By Voigtrob (Voigtrob) on Saturday, January 03, 2004 - 07:38 pm: Edit

bump = bring up my post

Princeton is gonna be real tough, as will NYU I think. The others I think you have at least a decent shot if not more. Your SAT Is are a tad weak as are your ECs. Being hispanic will help, though. It's a bit strange to have 640 Verbal, but then 790 lit and 730 writing... have you considered retaking the SAT Is?

By Kingdvl (Kingdvl) on Saturday, January 03, 2004 - 07:46 pm: Edit

I'm on vicodin...and although it doesn't help my score, it doesn't hurt it.

My scores were (790m, 710 verbal), 800 wr, 780 2c, 700 us

By Margitte (Margitte) on Saturday, January 03, 2004 - 08:10 pm: Edit

note to voigtrob: I didn't study for any of the SATs, and because of that I scored really poorly on all the analogies. They are most definitely not my forte.

By Margitte (Margitte) on Saturday, January 03, 2004 - 09:10 pm: Edit

bump