Picking my Columbia essay! Assistance requested!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Picking my Columbia essay! Assistance requested!
By Wrinklefiber (Wrinklefiber) on Friday, January 02, 2004 - 06:40 pm: Edit

This is an essay I've used for several schools already, but I read over it for Columbia, and I just don't know...I'm not very good at rating my own work.

And, since Columbia's my super-long-shot first choice, I want my essay to be good (but I have IB World Lit papers to write so I don't want to write a new one unless this one is just "ehh")...

Here it is. Thoughts? Suggestions?

When I was ten, I was relatively certain that I would be an architect. Well, not just any architect, but instead the most creative, most bold, most structurally eloquent architectural mastermind, designing the great steel-and-glass behemoths of the twenty-first century. But after six years of contemplation (and the reluctant concession that I still can’t color inside the lines), I’ve strayed away from architecture, journeying further and further into law, a field that increasingly intrigues me.

I first recognized an interest in and disposition toward law when my sophomore English class held a mock trial session for William Golding’s Lord of the Flies; I applied for an attorney position simply out of curiosity, but was assigned a witness role instead. Based on my work there, both my English teacher and a friend suggested I join Mock Trial.