Transferring from Berkeley to Harvard, Stanford, Wharton

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Transferring from Berkeley to Harvard, Stanford, Wharton
By Lokiminion (Lokiminion) on Friday, January 02, 2004 - 09:11 am: Edit

Hi guys,
I'm currently a sophomore and I'm thinking about tranferring out of Berkeley for one of those schools (Harvard, Stanford, UPenn-Wharton), but I'm not sure if I can do it so I hope somebody can give me a fair assessment. I haven't been exactly working towards this goal since I got into college or even high school, so my stats are a bit random. I found this on google and this site seems pretty active.
So here's all my stats, hope someone can help.
high school:
I went to the top public high school in California in terms of STAR and SAT testing and college acceptances etc... and its recently been publicized in a book.
My final GPA I believe was ~3.5, but I did poorly in my frosh years, with 3 C's, algebra II, trig, and spanish I but I've consistently challenged myself with the hardest classes available at my school. Junior, Senior year was 3.5-3.67 per semester. My school weighted Honors and AP's from sophomore year and up as 5's for A's, and 4's for B's and so on. Based on this scale my final GPA was about 4.1-4.3 including senior year. My school does not rank.
SAT I, 1460 (710 Math, 750 verbal), SATII History 750, MathIIC 740, Writing 730. All 4's and 5's in AP's, mostly 5's.
EC's: Model United Nations (awards), NASA Space Settlement competition (leadership, and awards), key club.
college:
I got into Berkeley as a spring semester 2003 admit which I believe was due to my bad frosh grades but I spent Fall 2002 at Cal taking UC Extension classes that are almost identical to on campus classes that count as Berkeley classes that can count for major reqs.
I haven't got all my grades yet from the fall.
Best case scenario (cumulative average): 3.72/4.00