I'm a competitive swimmer with decent SAT scores and grades,

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: I'm a competitive swimmer with decent SAT scores and grades,
By Imfrikinstemmy (Imfrikinstemmy) on Wednesday, December 31, 2003 - 07:06 pm: Edit

Hi! Ok, this is my first time writing a new conversation, but here it goes!

I'm a competitive USS swimmer and I swim 22 hours a week for 48 weeks. I was a member of 2 national record breaking relays in the 400 meter free and 800 meter free reays. I also have 3 junior national cuts and I am really close to making my senior cuts. I would be in the faster half of Ivy swim teams, but for schools like Stanford, UCLA, and Cal I would be in the bottom middle.

I am also a guidance counselor at an international adoption agency (Cathwell Adoption Agency whose main headquarters are in Taipei, Taiwan). I contribute 4 hours a week for 40 weeks there. I help adoptees overcome their insecurities about being adopted and the Asian community's stigma of adoption.

My SAT score was a 1410, V740 M670. My GPA weighted is a 3.9. Last year, I took AP Biology, AP US history, honors english, honors spanish, and precalculus. I scored a 5 on my AP Bio test and a 4 on AP US History test. For SAT IIs, my writing score was 730, my math IC was 630 (yea, I'm working on that, I'm going to take it again in January), and my Biology score was 720. I've only taken each test once, if that is any factor.

As of now, I'm applying to 8 schools: Harvard, Stanford, UCLA, Cal, Michigan-Ann Arbor, Notre Dame, Brown, and maybe even USC. What are my chances for getting into any one of these schools? I applied early to Harvard and got deferred. The coach told me that it was possibly because I'm from California and/or because I'm an athlete. So let me know! Thanks!!

By Mjl86 (Mjl86) on Wednesday, December 31, 2003 - 07:09 pm: Edit

Why Brown or USC? aren't those anti-sport and ultra liberal schools?