Lack of ECs...am I a hopeless case?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2004 Archive: Lack of ECs...am I a hopeless case?
By Snurp (Snurp) on Tuesday, December 30, 2003 - 09:16 pm: Edit

I'm currently a sophomore at a science magnet school. Since we have a huge workload and get out at 4:30 every day, I feel like I have no time for extracurriculars. I'm an active member in our school's (small) MDA chapter and I volunteer at a hospital on Saturdays. I also swim (not competitively) and I'm in the school orchestra and choir, but I'm not distinguished in any of them. I'm planning on applying for Columbia's SHP, joining the yearbook staff, and entering a regional science fair but I'll only have the time and resources in junior year. Is it too late for me to start working on ECs then?

If all else fails, would my grades help? somehow? My GPA is a 3.99 on a 4.0 scale (we have no A+s here), my PSAT score was a 230, and as of now I have As in all my classes. My school doesn't rank so I have no idea where I stand.

So be honest...am I a hopeless case?

By Voigtrob (Voigtrob) on Tuesday, December 30, 2003 - 09:38 pm: Edit

You still have time, join stuff now, you're only a sophomore. Really, try and fit something you enjoy into your schedule. Even community service can be an EC, just spend a lot of free time doing it. Tho, a friend of mine got into Harvard EA with absolutely no ECs whatsoever. (However, he's a genius, 1600/3x800/highest GPA our school has ever had, he took like 20 AP classes... but still, it's an example. ;P)

By Snurp (Snurp) on Wednesday, December 31, 2003 - 09:04 pm: Edit