Need some expert to evaluate my chances at MIT and Yale plea

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: November 2003 Archive: Need some expert to evaluate my chances at MIT and Yale plea
By Yaleman (Yaleman) on Thursday, November 20, 2003 - 04:32 pm: Edit

Hey everybody,
I am a German student and applying for Yale and MIT. Can anyone tell me what my realistic chances are... I am not that familiar with what the colleges are really looking for and can't really tell if I with my my stats am competative:

SAT I: 670 math 680 verbal ( I'm not a native speaker and have just taken the test once; does anyone know if the colleges take into account that we are not used to standardized tests?)

SAT II: Physics: 780
Math IIc:730
Writing: 670
Toefl: 297 (out of 300)
I spent one year in the US with a full scholarship by the US Congress. During that year I took AP Calculus BC and English Lit./Comp.

Calc: 5
Engl: 4

My Abitur grade (GPA) is very good (among top 5% percent of Germany's graduating class).

I speak English and German fluently. I also speak French and Spanish and had 7 years of Latin.
I have some ECs (German schools don't really offer those). I did a 8 week EMT training and worked as one during my civilian year. I have been playing tennis for about 8 years. Won some tournaments while I was in the US and I am playing for a German team at a tennis club.
One year of civilian service. And very good recommendations.
Do you think thats going to help me out with my pretty low SAT Is?
Thanks a lot for your help.
Philip

By Jnorsky18 (Jnorsky18) on Thursday, November 20, 2003 - 07:07 pm: Edit

Your IN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Sokkerdude4 (Sokkerdude4) on Thursday, November 20, 2003 - 07:21 pm: Edit

I believe that would be "You're in," with an apostophe. Nobody likes bad punctuation. However, I agree, "You're in."

By Haithman (Haithman) on Thursday, November 20, 2003 - 09:40 pm: Edit

he's in that easily??