HELP A FOREIGN STUDENT !!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: November 2003 Archive: HELP A FOREIGN STUDENT !!
By Sidis (Sidis) on Wednesday, November 19, 2003 - 08:52 pm: Edit

Hey what about my chances? Williams is definitively my #1 choice, I'd kill to go there! Can you tell me what other colleges would be good fits?

Should I even bother?

Foreign student from Ecuador (Never lived in the US)

Toefl (expected) : 270+

Expected SAT II scores:
Math IIC: 800-750
Physics: 800-750
Math IC: 780-730

Class Rank: top 25% (as of senior year, we don't have GPA here)

IB candidate, expected HL scores (besides SL tests)

Physics: 6-7
History: 6-7
Literature: 6
Total expected score: 39-41

Hardest courses on my high school (among the most competitive in my country)

ECs:

Self Taught english
Learning German By Myself
School's Newspaper Editor (2 years)
School's Newspaper Designer (1 year)
Classic Guitar (2 years, talented player)
Comic Drawing (Sold self-made comics)
40+ hours community service
Model United Nations
National Essay Constest (didn't win anyway)
National Speech Contest (7th)
City Speech Contest (2nd)
School's mascot designer
School's Christmas postal contest (won)

Recommendations will be very good, from my Physics teacher, my guitar teacher, and my Math teacher (IB coordinator)

Essay, hopefully good

THanks

By Piquant77 (Piquant77) on Thursday, November 20, 2003 - 05:11 am: Edit

I'm an int'l in the IB too :) I'd say you might want to consider retaking the SAT I's, although a 1340 is fine to get into slightly less competitive schools. Also, don't take both Math IC and Math IIC, esp. if you're expecting a lower score on I. Its unnecessary.

By Sidis (Sidis) on Friday, November 21, 2003 - 10:56 pm: Edit

but then what subject?? I don't thinks I would do well on the Writing test... I would screw it.