Dreaming of NYU and USC

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: November 2003 Archive: Dreaming of NYU and USC
By H0neymoon (H0neymoon) on Wednesday, November 19, 2003 - 10:07 am: Edit

Hey guys. I need some advice. I am a student from England

I have never received an exam result lower than a B. I fact all my exam results have been A's with the exception of three B's ;)

I just sat the ACT, and scored a 27... not too bad. (31 in writing)(25 maths)(29 science)(24 reading)

SAT II- writing at 720

I've had three part time jobs in fashion and customer service. Working up to 25 hours a week.

I've spent six months travelling the world and experienced a variety of cultural diversity beyond anything I'd ever imagined or previously experienced.

My activities include scuba diving, sky diving, reading, theatre, photography, public debate, cycling, swimming.

I've received various awards in Junior Citizen competitions, Gym and Dance displays, Science Health Matters research.

I desperately want to study journalism at NYU or USC. Anyone have any views or comments they could provide on my chances, taking into account my qualifications, and the fact that, as an English student, my education has differed greatly from the US standard education.

Thanks guys, any advice would help.

By Tsdad (Tsdad) on Wednesday, November 19, 2003 - 12:20 pm: Edit

There's lots of threads on USC all over CC. Do a search. You could also start with the individual colleges discussion section and look under "U" for University of Southern California. You'll find a very long thread there. I'd also go to the USC website. They have lots of admissions informtion there.

USC has lots of foreign students and is very welcoming to them.

After you read through the other threads, if you have any questions ask away. My son is in his first year at USC.

By H0neymoon (H0neymoon) on Wednesday, November 19, 2003 - 03:26 pm: Edit